The Riverside Cup Winners.

Riverside Cup (Flatcoats with Riverside Cup points from 1947 until the detailed listing in the FCRS yearbook was abandoned)

The Riverside Cup is presented yearly by the Brittish Flacoated Retriever Society to the memory of Mr Reginald Cooke of the Riverside Flatcoats. It’s given to the Flatcoat that has gained the highest scores from Field Trials based on the point system below. Reginald Cooke was active in the breed from the end of the nineteenth century until his death 1951. He’s probably the most influential Flatcoat breeder of all times and he owned the only two Brittish Flatcoats, Dual Ch Grouse of Riverside and Dual Ch Toby of Riverside, having gained a dual championship title from Field Trials and shows. The list is ranking the point winning dogs starting with the highest number of points for each decade. When additional “total” points are exposed within a parenthesis point from the previous decade is added for some of the major price winners.  

There’s an uncertainty when it comes to the date when this cup was presented for the first time. Nevertheless, figures are covering the period from the restoration years after the second world war until 2004 when the FCRS yearbook ended the full and detailed listing of Riverside cup points. There’s also an uncertainty when it comes to the early figures. They are basically based on the lists of cup winners presented in The Flatcoated Retriever Society yearbook from 1971 onwards. When it comes to the very early years results are retrieved from Nancy Laughton’s book “A review of the Flatcoated Retriever” and Brenda Phillips book “Flatcoated Retrievers”.  Apologies for any faults!

Ingemar Borelius

Riverside Cup Points

Riverside Cup Winners (Links to pedigree)

2017: Daniel Higgs: Feather In My Cap At Higgscroft

2016: Mrs. H. Rosser: Mahinda Dudley

2015: Helen Ford: Percuil Nuvolari Tazio 

2013: Mr. M. Johnson: Sachbach Dom Perignon

2012: Mrs. H. Rosser: Mahinda Dudley (15 point)

2011: Mr. Andy Snow: Necessares Raffle (32)

2010: Mrs. Sarah Turley: Cassblaidd Kaimi (5 point)

2009: Mrs Simon Park: Walnutfarm Nula (7 point)

2008: Mrs. Sheila Neary: Warresmere Heath Rustic of Collarm (6 point)

2007: Steve Ashby: Trioaks Macey from Tunnelwood (7 point)

2006: Lisa Harris: Hawksthorn Calypso

2005: Mr. & Mrs. Rosser: Tegwyn Red Spirit

2004: Hilary Rosser: Mata Hari Moonbeam

Details in point

2000 - 2004, 1

2000 - 2004, 2

1990 - 1999, 1

1990 - 1999, 2

1990 - 1999, 3

1990 - 1999, 4

1980 - 1989, 1.

1980 - 1989, 2

1980 - 1989, 3

1970 - 1979, 1

1970 - 1979, 2

1970 - 1979, 3

1960 - 1969, 1

1960 - 1969, 2

1947 - 1959. 1


       © Alex Faarkrog 2017